Tax

Federal, cantonal, municipal

Taxes are collected on three levels. The Confederation levies taxes on income, as do the cantons and municipalities; the latter also charge a wealth tax. The tax burden in the Canton of Zurich is relatively moderate by international standards. A typical feature of Switzerland’s federal structure is that each municipality and each canton can determine its own rate of taxation for the municipal and the cantonal tax; the federal tax is the same throughout Switzerland.

The Cantonal Tax Office supplies comprehensive information about the tax system in the Canton of Zurich, and the “Tax calculator” web application helps you to obtain a provisional tax assessment.

Self-employed persons

Self-employed persons declare their income by way of a tax declaration.

Taxation at source

Foreign employees who do not yet have a “C” residence permit are subject to taxation at source. This means the employer deducts the municipal, cantonal and federal taxes directly from the salary. If the gross income exceeds CHF 120 000 per year, a tax return has to be completed and taxes are assessed retrospectively.

Expatriates

Expatriates may also benefit from special guidelines according to which they can deduct particular professional expenses.

Value added tax

The normal rate is eight (8) per cent.

Double taxation agreements

Switzerland has concluded agreements to avoid double taxation with over 100 other states – including all the EU and EFTA countries. These agreements prevent double taxation of income, assets and inheritances and to some extent also include provisions for reductions of withholding tax.

Withholding tax

A thirty-five (35) per cent withholding tax is charged on deposit interest paid by Swiss banks and on earnings from Swiss securities; banks deduct the tax directly from the interest credited. Withholding tax is refunded on application if the taxed securities are declared on the tax return.

Steuern

Bund, Kanton, Gemeinden

Die Steuern werden auf drei Ebenen erhoben. Der Bund erhebt Steuern auf das Einkommen, Kantone und Gemeinden ebenfalls auf das Einkommen und zusätzlich auf das Vermögen. Die Steuerbelastung im Kanton Zürich ist im internationalen Vergleich relativ moderat. Typisch für die föderalistische Struktur der Schweiz ist, dass jede Gemeinde und jeder Kanton den Gemeinde- und Staatssteuersatz selbst bestimmen kann. Einzig die Bundessteuer ist schweizweit gleich.

Das kantonale Steueramt bietet umfangreiche Informationen zum kantonalen Steuersystem und die Web-Applikation «Steuerberechnung» ermöglicht eine provisorische Steuerberechnung.

Selbstständig Erwerbende

Selbstständig Erwerbende deklarieren ihre Einkünfte mittels Steuererklärung.

Quellensteuer

Ausländische Arbeitnehmende ohne Niederlassungsbewilligung C unterliegen der Quellensteuer. Das heisst: Der Arbeitgeber zieht die Gemeinde-, Staats- und Bundessteuern direkt vom Lohn ab. Bei einem Bruttoeinkommen von mehr als CHF 120'000 pro Jahr wird nachträglich eine Steuerveranlagung durchgeführt.

Expatriates

Expatriates haben die Möglichkeit, besondere Berufskosten abzuziehen, gemäss spezieller Richtlinien. 

Mehrwertsteuer

Der Normalsatz beträgt 8 Prozent.

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Die Schweiz hat mit über 100 Staaten – darunter alle EU- und EFTA-Länder – Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen abgeschlossen. Diese verhindern eine zweifache Besteuerung von Einkommen, Vermögen oder Erbschaften. Teilweise sehen sie auch eine Reduktion der Verrechnungssteuer vor.

Verrechnungssteuer

Auf allen Zinsen aus Guthaben auf Schweizer Banken sowie auf allen Erträgen aus schweizerischen Wertpapieren wird eine 35-prozentige Verrechnungssteuer erhoben und von der Bank direkt vom Zinsguthaben abgezogen. Die Verrechnungssteuer wird auf Antrag zurückerstattet, nachdem die belasteten Wertschriftenerträge in der Steuererklärung deklariert wurden.