Entry & Residence

Flughafen

Entry and visa

Switzerland is part of the Schengen area. Citizens from EU/EFTA countries need a valid identity card to enter the country. For third-country nationals (citizens from non-EU/EFTA countries), a valid passport is required. Detailed information concerning visa requirements is available from the website of the Federal Office for Migration.

Moving to Switzerland

There are numerous professional relocation firms that can ease the process of moving for you; they will take care of everything from finding housing to enrolling your children in a local school.

Registration

After you arrive in the Canton of Zurich, and after every change of address, you are required to register with the Residents’ Registration Office of the City of Zurich or with your municipality’s Residents’ Office.

Residence and permanent residence

With regard to residence permits, there are differences between citizens of EU/EFTA member states and other countries. Special conditions apply to Croatian citizens.

Residence and permanent residence permits are issued by the Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich. No permit is required for stays up to three months. Depending on the type of permit, it may be possible to work. Foreigners who reside in Switzerland receive a foreigner’s permit with the type of permit indicated on the document.

Stays without gainful employment

A permit is required for stays lasting more than three months, even for those who are not gainfully employed (pensioners, students, job seekers and others). The permit is issued by the Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich.

The Handbook for Investors provides a good overview of visa regulations, residency and work permits.

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Flughafen

Einreise und Visa

Die Schweiz ist Teil des Schengen-Raumes. Angehörige von EU/EFTA-Staaten benötigen zur Einreise eine gültige Identitätskarte. Für Drittstaatsangehörige (Bürgerinnen und Bürger von ausserhalb der EU/EFTA) ist ein gültiger Reisepass nötig. Informationen über die Visumspflicht findet man auf der Website des Bundesamtes für Migration.

Umzug in die Schweiz

Um den Umzug zu erleichtern, stehen zahlreiche professionelle Relocation Firmen zur Verfügung, die von der Wohnungssuche bis zur Einschulung der Kinder behilflich sind.

Anmeldung

Nach dem Umzug in den Kanton Zürich sowie bei jedem Wohnortswechsel muss man sich innert acht Tagen beim Personenmeldeamt der Stadt Zürich oder bei der Einwohnerkontrolle der Wohngemeinde anmelden.

Aufenthalt und Niederlassung

Bezüglich der Aufenthaltsbewilligung gibt es Unterschiede zwischen Angehörigen der EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten und der übrigen Länder. Spezielle Bedingungen gelten für kroatische Staatsangehörige.

Aufenthalts- und Niederlassungsbewilligungen werden vom Kantonalen Migrationsamt ausgestellt. Aufenthalte bis drei Monate sind nicht bewilligungspflichtig. Je nach Art der Bewilligung kann eine Erwerbstätigkeit aufgenommen werden. Ausländer, die sich in der Schweiz aufhalten, erhalten einen Ausländerausweis, der die Art der erteilten Bewilligung festhält.

Aufenthalt ohne Erwerbstätigkeit

Aufenthalte von mehr als drei Monaten sind auch für Nichterwerbstätige (Rentner, Studierende, Stellensuchende und andere) bewilligungspflichtig. Die Bewilligung wird vom Kantonalen Migrationsamt erteilt.

Einen guten Überblick über Visa, Aufenthalts- und Arbeitsbewilligungen gibt das Handbuch für Investoren.