Life Sciences

Life sciences centre

In recent years, Zurich has evolved into a dynamically expanding centre for the life sciences industry. The term ‘life sciences’ refers to the application of scientific findings of modern biochemistry, medicine, biophysics, molecular biology, bioinformatics and other fields.

Broad academic base and internationally known companies

The research-intensive development and production in the life sciences cluster benefits from the broad academic base which Zurich offers by way of the Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), the University of Zurich, the University Hospital, the other hospitals and the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW). Extensive basic research and applied research are among the most important prerequisites for a thriving life sciences industry. Thus, to a considerable extent, the increasing momentum is due to the spin-off activities stemming from the universities. Some of them settled in the BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zurich. In addition to the various small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) some internationally renowned companies moved to Zurich. This results in a broad mix of scientific excellence, innovative spin-offs, established SMEs as well as well-known large enterprises.

Cluster activities

The cluster activities are aimed at intensifying the cooperation between industry, research and academia and politics.

Numerous stakeholders cooperate closely under the umbrella brand “Life Science Zurich“ and jointly coordinate the following activities/committees:

Cluster Network

Life Sciences Company Database

Swiss Life Sciences Database Logo

If you are looking for life sciences companies, organisations, R&D or professional service provides, investors or research institutes in the region of Zurich, the Swiss Life Sciences Database offers you many options.

Life Sciences

Zentrum für die Life Sciences Industrie

In den letzten Jahren hat sich Zürich zum dynamisch wachsenden Zentrum für die Life Sciences Industrie entwickelt. Der Begriff Life Sciences umfasst die Anwendung naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse der modernen Biochemie, Medizin, Biophysik, Molekularbiologie, Bioinformatik und anderer Gebiete.

Breite akademische Basis und international bekannte Unternehmen

Die forschungsintensive Entwicklung und Produktion im Cluster Life Sciences profitiert von der breiten akademischen Basis, die Zürich mit der ETH, der Universität Zürich, dem UniversitätsSpital, den anderen Spitälern und der Zürcher Fachhochschule ZHAW bietet. Eine breite Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Forschung gehören zu den wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für eine florierende Life Sciences Industrie. Ein grosser Teil der wachsenden Dynamik basiert denn auch auf Spin-off Aktivitäten aus den Hochschulen, die sich zum Beispiel im BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zürich niederlassen. Neben den zahlreichen ansässigen KMUs haben sich auch international bekannte Unternehmen für den Standort Zürich entschieden. Zusammen bilden die Akteure einen vielseitigen Mix aus exzellenter Wissenschaft, innovativen Spin-offs, etablierten KMUs und namhaften Grossunternehmen.

Cluster-Aktivitäten

Die Cluster-Aktivitäten zielen auf die intensivierte Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wirtschaft, Forschung und Lehre sowie Politik ab.

Unter der Dachmarke «Life Science Zurich (LSZ)» arbeiten zahlreiche Stakeholder eng zusammen. Gemeinsam werden folgende Aktivitäten/Gremien koordiniert:

Cluster Netzwerk

Life Sciences Firmen Datenbank

Swiss Life Sciences Database Logo

Falls Sie Life Sciences Firmen, Organisationen, R&D oder professionelle Dienstleister, Investoren oder Forschungslabors in der Region Zürich suchen, bietet Ihnen die Swiss Life Sciences Database viele Optionen.