Creative Industries

National centre for creative industries

Zurich is Switzerland’s economic hub and boasts a high density of companies in the creative industries sector. The economic focus of people working in creative industries is on the creation, production, distribution and/or medial distribution of cultural/creative goods and services.

The following thirteen sub-segments are attributed to the creative industries cluster:

  • Music
  • Books
  • Art
  • Films
  • Radio
  • Performing arts
  • Design
  • Architecture
  • Advertising
  • Software/game design
  • Arts and crafts
  • Press/media
  • Recording industry

Events

Creative Zurich Wednesday, four times a year

Creative industries make Zurich even more attractive

According to the statistics on enterprise structure (STATENT 2011 p.), in 2011 some 71 200 employees worked in 15 600 companies in the creative industries sector in the Canton of Zurich. The total for Switzerland as a whole was approximately 263 100 in 67 200 companies. The gross value added in the Canton of Zurich amounted to approximately 6.1 billion Swiss francs, and to 19.6 billion Swiss francs throughout Switzerland. Zurich is particulary strongly respresented in the sub-segments architecture, design, game design, music an press. Creative industries undoubtedly contribute to Zurich's leading international position in quality of life rankings, not least thanks to the rich diversity of Zurich’s music, culture and gastronomy scene as well as the regulary held events including:

Well-known representatives of creative industries

Among Zurich’s internationally renowned creative industries representatives figure: designer Alfredo Häberli, architects EM2N, Burkhalter Sumi, Gigon/Gujer, Tilla Theus, gallery owners Eva Pressenhuber, Hauser & Wirth, bag manufacturers Freitag Bros. and the music duo Yello. Other representatives are listed in the booklet Cluster Report 2011-2013: Facts, Figures and Players.

Kreativwirtschaft

Nationales Zentrum der Kreativwirtschaft

Zürich als wirtschaftliches Zentrum der Schweiz weist auch eine hohe Dichte an Kreativunternehmen auf. Kreativwirtschafter sind Personen, die sich erwerbswirtschaftlich mit der Schaffung, Produktion, Verteilung und/oder medialen Verbreitung von kulturellen/kreativen Gütern und Dienstleistungen befassen.

Dem Cluster Kreativwirtschaft werden die folgenden dreizehn Teilmärkte zugerechnet:

  • Musik
  • Buch
  • Kunst
  • Film
  • Rundfunk
  • Darstellende Kunst
  • Design
  • Architektur
  • Werbung
  • Software- bzw. Game Design
  • Kunsthandwerk
  • Presse/Medien
  • Phono

Veranstaltungen

Creative Zürich Wednesday, 4 x pro Jahr

Kreativwirtschaft macht Zürich noch attraktiver

Gemäss STATENT 2011 p. arbeiteten im Jahr 2011 im Kanton Zürich rund 71‘200 Beschäftigte in 15‘600 Kreativ-Arbeitsstätten, schweizweit waren es rund 263‘100 Beschäftigte in 67‘200 Unternehmen. Die Bruttowertschöpfung betrug im Kanton Zürich rund 6.1 Mrd., schweizweit 19.6 Mrd. Franken. Besonders stark ist Zürich bei den Teilmärkten Architektur, Design, Game Design, Musik und Presse. Zweifelsohne trägt die Kreativwirtschaft massgeblich dazu bei, dass Zürich in Sachen Lebensqualität weltweit als führend gilt. Dies unter anderem durch die vielfältige Musik-, Kultur- und Gastro-Szene sowie die regelmässig stattfindenden Veranstaltungen wie zum Beispiel:

Namhafte Kreativwirtschafter

International bekannt sind unter anderen der Designer Alfredo Häberli, die Architekten EM2N, Burkhalter Sumi, Gigon/Gujer, Tilla Theus, die Galeristen Eva Presenhuber, Hauser & Wirth, die Taschenhersteller Gebrüder Freitag sowie das Musiker-Duo Yello. Für weitere Akteure siehe Cluster-Bericht 2011-2013: Daten, Fakten und Akteure.