Why Others Are Here

Zurich is in popular demand

The chart below illustrates Zurich’s significance and attractiveness for businesses.

3 Minuten mit Alice Wheelwright und Matthias Sala

Two people with very different biographies and backgrounds tell us how they experience living and working in Zurich:

Alice Wheelwright, from the United States, works for Ecolab, an international company based in Glattbrugg-Zurich.

Snapshot Testimonial Alice Wheelwright

Matthias Sala, of Swiss origin, is the founder and CEO of an SME specialised in mobile games development.

Snapshot Testimonial Matthias Sala

Further statements from entrepreneurs

Roland Junck, CEO of Nyrstar

“It wasn’t just the fiscal advantages that prompted us to move the entire management to Switzerland. Zurich’s principal features are its compactness, the high quality of life and the good air connections to the rest of the world. More than 80 of the 100 geologists, lawyers, engineers and environmental specialists we employ were recruited locally. They originate from 26 different countries and 40% of them are women.”

Nyrstar is the world’s largest producer of zinc.

Bruno Oesch, CEO Neurotune

“Zurich offers the ideal environment in which to found high-tech companies. Among Zurich's many positive attributes figure: Technopark Zurich, the Biotech Center Schlieren, the availability of experienced technology transfer experts at the universities and the university students' interest in fledgling companies.”

Bruno Oesch is the founder of several life sciences companies.

Marc P. Bernegger, founder of a number of companies

“Zurich is the ideal location for an Internet start-up. It’s not just the cluster of ICT companies of all sizes, the universities and the investors that impress me; it’s also the non-bureaucratic approach of the authorities.”

George Quinn, CFO Swiss Re

“Zurich leads the world when it comes to integration of newcomers from all over the globe. This is because of its outstanding education system (by local and international standards), a healthy way of life offering plenty of opportunities for recreation in the countryside, and a safe environment that is all too rare these days. Zurich is unbeatable.”

David Walker, Head of Banking, Citibank Zurich

“Zurich is a preferred location for our staff who enjoy the high living standards, the terrific public transportation network, easy international travel as well as the proximity to the lake and mountains for outdoor activities.
Personally, after years of commuting in large cities I have chosen to live by the lake and greatly value the ability to start my day by walking to our city centre office.”

Warum andere hier sind

Zürich ist gefragt

Die folgende Tabelle veranschaulicht die Bedeutung und Anziehungskraft des Standortes Zürich.

3 Minuten mit Alice Wheelwright und Matthias Sala

Zwei Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Biografien erzählen, wie sie Zürich erleben:

Alice Wheelwright, Amerikanerin, ist für den internationalen Konzern Ecolab mit Sitz in Glattbrugg-Zürich tätig.

Snapshot Testimonial Alice Wheelwright

Matthias Sala mit Schweizer Wurzeln ist Gründer und CEO eines KMU im Mobile Game Bereich.

Snapshot Testimonial Matthias Sala

Weitere Statements von Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmern

Roland Junck, Konzernchef Nyrstar

«Nicht rein fiskalische Vorteile haben den Ausschlag gegeben, alle Führungspositionen in die Schweiz zu verlegen. Zürichs Trümpfe sind die Übersichtlichkeit, die hohe Lebensqualität und die guten Flugverbindungen ins Ausland. Über 80 der gut 100 in Zürich tätigen Geologen, Juristen, Ingenieure und Umwelttechniker wurden lokal engagiert. Sie stammen aus 26 verschiedenen Nationen, 40 Prozent sind Frauen.»

Nyrstar ist der weltgrösste Zinkproduzent.

Bruno Oesch, Executive Chairman Neurotune

«Zürich bietet ein gutes Umfeld für High-Tech-Firmengründungen. Standorte wie der Technopark Zürich, das Biotech Center Schlieren, erfahrene Technologietransfer-Spezialisten an den Hochschulen aber auch das grosse Interesse der Studenten an Jungunternehmen machen die Qualitäten Zürichs aus.»

Bruno Oesch hat bereits mehrere Life Sciences Unternehmen gegründet.

Marc P. Bernegger, Mehrfach-Unternehmensgründer

«Zürich ist der ideale Standort, um ein Internet-Startup aufzubauen. Nicht nur der IKT-Cluster mit grossen und kleinen Firmen, den Hochschulen und spezialisierten Investoren, sondern auch die unbürokratische Arbeitsweise der Behörden überzeugen mich.»

George Quinn, CFO Swiss Re

«Zürich steht weltweit an erster Stelle bei der Integration von Neuzuzügern aus aller Welt. Dafür sorgen das hervorragende Bildungsangebot (sowohl lokal als auch international), ein gesunder Lebensstil mit umfassenden Möglichkeiten für Aktivitäten in der freien Natur und ein sicheres Umfeld, das heutzutage nur noch selten zu finden ist. Zürich ist unschlagbar.»

David Walker, Head of Banking, Citibank Zürich

«Der Standort Zürich ist äusserst beliebt bei unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern. Sie geniessen die hohe Lebensqualität, das fantastische öffentliche Verkehrsnetz, die internationale Erreichbarkeit sowie die unmittelbare Nähe zum See und den Bergen für Aktivitäten im Freien.

Nach Jahren des Pendelns in Grossstädten habe ich mich entschlossen, am See zu wohnen. Heute schätze ich die Möglichkeit, meinen Tag mit einem frühmorgendlichen Spaziergang in unser Büro im Stadtzentrum zu beginnen.»