Au pairs

Definition

Au pairs are young people from EU/EFTA Member States who live in Switzerland with a host family for a maximum of two years to learn the language, improve their professional skills and expand their general knowledge within the framework of cultural exchange programmes. In return for board and accommodation, they work in the host family’s home.

Conditions

  • Au pairs from the EU/EFTA area are admitted.
  • The language spoken by the host family and locally in the region should be different to the mother tongue of the au pair who they employ - in the Canton of Zurich German is viewed as being the local language.
  • The au pair must be aged between 17 and 30.
  • Permits for au-pairs from Croatia are subject to quotas for short-term residents - in such cases the fixed quotas for short-term resident permits determined in the protocol to the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons applies. Citizens of EU-27 States are not subject to any restrictions in this respect.
  • Attendance at a language course to learn the language of the country is mandatory.
  • The au-pair may be employed for at most 30 hours per week and must have one complete day off per week.
  • The employment may only consist of light housework and care of children for which reasonable payment should be made.
  • Au-pairs have the right of residence with the host family and must have their own room.

Provisions

  • The same provisions that apply to nationals of third countries apply fundamentally to au-pairs from Croatia- with the exception that the age can range from 17 to 30 and that no agency has to be involved.
  • The conditions for entering the country and residence are given in the Directions and comments on the introduction of the free movement of persons (VEP). The permit is valid for 12 months (short-term residents permit for a contract lasting 364 days) and can be extended for stays with the same host family to a maximum of 24 months where this is justified.

Conditions of employment

The general conditions of employment are arranged in accordance with the Normal contractual conditions for domestic staff in the Canton of Zurich. Further information about employment conditions, continuous training, payment, accident and health insurance, taxation at source, deductions from salaries, tax liability and other information can be found in the au-pair information sheet.

Application documents

  • Copy of a passport

Please apply using the electronic form. If you have not yet registered, please request a password by selecting “New registration”. If you wish to apply using the form use the Application for an entry permit.

Au-pair

Definition

Au-pairs sind junge Personen aus den EU/EFTA-Mitgliedsstaaten, die in der Schweiz während maximal zwei Jahren bei einer Gastfamilie wohnen um die Sprache zu lernen, die Berufskenntnisse zu verbessern und die Allgemeinbildung im Rahmen des Kultur-Austausches zu vertiefen. Als Gegenleistung für Kost und Logis arbeiten Au-pairs im Haushalt der Gastfamilie mit.

Voraussetzungen

  • Zugelassen sind Au-pairs aus dem EU/EFTA-Raum
  • Die Gastfamilie als auch das regionale Umfeld sollen einer anderen Sprache angehören als die im Au-pair-Verhältnis angestellte Person - im Kanton Zürich gilt Deutsch als Umgangssprache
  • Das Alter muss zwischen 17 und 30 Jahren liegen
  • Die Bewilligung von Au-pairs aus Kroatien unterliegt der Kontingentierung für Kurzaufenthalter - massgebend sind hierbei die im Protokoll zum Freizügigkeitsabkommen festgelegten Kontingente für Kurzaufenthalterbewiligungen
  • Für Angehörige der EU-27-Staaten gelten keine Zulassungsbeschränkungen
  • Der Besuch eines Sprachkurses in der am Aufenthaltsort gesprochenen Landessprache ist obligatorisch
  • Die Tätigkeit darf höchstens 30 Stunden pro Woche bei einem ganzen freien Tag pro Woche dauern
  • Die Tätigkeit darf lediglich leichte Hausarbeiten und Kinderbetreuung umfassen und dafür muss eine angemessene Entschädigung entrichtet werden
  • Au-pairs besitzen Wohnrecht bei der Gastfamilie und müssen über ein eigenes Zimmer verfügen

Bestimmungen

  • Für Au-pairs aus Kroatien gelten grundsätzlich dieselben Bestimmungen wie bei Drittsstaatsangehörigen - mit Ausnahmahme davon, dass die Altersspanne bei 17 bis 30 Jahre liegt und keine Vermittlungsorganisation erforderlich ist.
  • Für Einreise und Aufenthalt gelten die Bestimmungen gemäss Verordnung über die Einführung des freien Personenverkehrs (VEP). Die Bewilligung gilt für 12 Monate (Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung für einen Vertrag bis 364 Tage) und kann in begründeten Fällen bei der gleichen Gastfamilie auf maximal 24 Monate verlängert werden.

Anstellungsbedingungen

Die allgemeinen Anstellungsbedingungen richten sich nach dem Normalarbeitsvertrag für hauswirtschaftliche ArbeitnehmerInnen im Kanton Zürich. Weitere Informationen über Anstellungsbedingungen, Weiterbildung, Entlöhnung, Unfall- und Krankenversicherung, Quellensteuer, Lohnabzüge, Steuerpflicht sowie Weiteres erfahren Sie im Au-pair-Merkblatt.

Gesuchsunterlagen

  • Kopie des Reisepasses

Bitte verwenden Sie für das Gesuch das elektronische Formular. Wenn Sie noch nicht registriert sind, können Sie unter neu registrieren Ihr Passwort anfordern. Für Gesuche per Formular benützen Sie das Gesuch um Einreisebewilligung.